Today I visited the Old Horse, Buddy. He has lost weight and needs a good grooming. I hope he begins to regain his healthy weight as he becomes more comfortable with his new home. It’s been three weeks since I moved him to this new home; perhaps he is going to need more time than I thought. He has finally begun eating, but I’m thinking he needs to start chowing down more grain and hay cubes pretty darn soon. He is also expending way too much energy worrying about his new girlfriend, Bella. She is happy to have him there, but not as thrilled as Buddy is to swoon over her. He is too old to be so interested in Bella, but who can say what too old is for attraction to another! He is also expending calories worrying about how close the young horse named Toby is getting to Bella: Ears back, neck arched, stay away! And Bella, she doesn’t care one way or the other.

I, myself, am an Old Person, but I am not losing weight! In fact, it is all I can do to not gain weight, which at the moment is about 20 pounds heavier than I believe I should be. I have not been put out to pasture yet, and I do not foresee that anytime soon as I am feeling quite good (hope no jinx here). Yesterday I rode my other horse, the black and white paint named Reo. We had a pleasant ride together, but I truly felt every muscle in my legs trembling by the time I dismounted. And today I walked a few thousand feet and these same legs ached and trembled. Will my muscles ever feel strong again, or is this part of what being an Old Person is going to be?

I am not attracted to another person, except my husband of 56 years. I do find him interesting, and I do not worry about him being near other women, or even men. That means I do not expend calories worrying about him being with others. Maybe I should and that would help take off a few pounds. Ahh, not worth it, I think.

The Old Horse and I have lived a good life, but we still have years left to experience living. ..and write about.

Published by mjm1942

I have aged. Of course. I was born in Trenton, NJ in 1942. I now live in Kentucky. It's 2019. My marriage has lasted 56 years, and I still love the man. My three children live far from us, and we do miss them; however, it's fine with just he and me. We are best friends. I love my dogs and my horses. I have failed as a writer (dreams died long ago), but I still dabble now and then. I have always been restless; perhaps because I have moved so many times in my life. I feel like something is waiting to happen around the corner. I graduated from Salem College at 55 years of age. I am a woman.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: